Leon Thomas

blues and the soulful truth

New or used : reissue new
Format : LP Gatefold
Grading Cover / Record : S / S
Label : flying dutchman
Year : 2022
Catalog No / Pressing country : HIQLP091 - UK

"The title of Thomas's third album for Bob Thiele's Flying Dutchman referenced Oliver Nelson's classic 1961 LP The Blues and the Abstract Truth. Released in 1972, Blues And The Soulful Truth featured an expansive all-star band that included Pretty Purdie (drums), Stanley Clarke (bass), Cecil Payne (Baritone sax) and the unsung Neal Creque (keyboards). It's a soul meets jazz meets the blues masterpiece with arrangements from ex James Brown horn-man Pee Wee Ellis. This astounding album features the extraordinary ‘Shape Your Mind To Die' ‘L.O.V.E' a captivating vocal version of Gabor Szabo's Gypsy Queen, the compelling ‘Love Each Other', the plaintive ‘China Doll' and a driving version of John Lee Hooker's Boom-Boom-Boom." (BGP Records)
180g vinyl housed in heavy gatefold sleeve.

A1 Let's Go Down To Lucy's
A2 L-O-V-E
A3 Gypsy Queen
A4 Love Each Other
B1 Shape Your Mind To Die
B2 Boom-Boom-Boom
B3 China Doll
B4 C.C. Rider

Suggestions ... See more

Sofa Records only uses cookies that are necessary for your user experience in order to provide you with the best service and to measure its audience. (Find out more). By clicking on ''Accept'', you consent to the use of cookies for all of the above mentioned purposes. You can also refuse by clicking on ''Refuse''.