Hania Rani

on giacometti

New or Used : New
Format : LP
Grading Cover / Record : M / M
Label : gondwana records
Year : 2023
Catalog No / Pressing country : GONDLP059 - UK

32.50 EUR

"On Giacometti" is a collection of beautiful recordings inspired by the renowned artist and family and features some of Rani's most profoundly delicate compositions to date. Invited by film director Susanna Fanzun, to score her forthcoming documentary on the legendary artist Alberto Giacometti, Hania Rani took herself to the Swiss mountains to compose in blissful isolation. As Rani explains eloquently below the compositions are based on improvised melodies, simple harmonies and structures and inspired by the silence of the mountains as Rani returns to her main instrument, the piano. The results are beguilingly reminiscent of her beloved debut album Esja, but with subtle extra layers of synthesiser, and on two tracks cello from friend and long-running collaborator Dobrawa Czocher.

A1 Allegra
A2 Spring
A3 Stampa
A4 Struggle
A5 Morning
A6 In Between
A7 Knots
B1 Dreamy
B2 Storm
B3 Time
B4 Mountains
B5 Annette
B6 Alberto

Suggestions ... See more

By clicking on 'Accept', you consent to the use of cookies for all of the above mentioned purposes. You can also refuse by clicking on 'Refuse'. (Find out more).