Cesaria Evora

radio mindelo

New or Used : New
Format : LP x 2
Grading Cover / Record : M / M
Label : music on vinyl
Year : 2023
Catalog No / Pressing country : MOVLP3307 - NL

34.50 EUR

This 22-track collection by Césaria Evóra contains the very first recordings made by the Cape Verdean singer in the early 1960s, with all tracks originally cut for the Mindelo radio station Radio Barlavento. The majority of the pieces were written by Gregorio Gonçalves, better known as "Ti Goy", who plays the guitar and/or drums on all tracks that also feature songwriter Frank Cavaquim. The songs on this album range from love songs to social commentaries on issues of the day. Radio Mindelo gives listeners the chance to listen to the familiar voice of the "Queen of Morna" in her purest essence during her early career.
Released for Record Store Day 2023 as a limited edition of 1000 individually numbered copies on purple marbled vinyl.

A1 Cize (Tape #38)
A2 Oriundina
A3 Pe Di Boi
A4 Nutridinha
A5 Vaquinha Mansa
B1 Belga
B2 Cize (Tape #46)
B3 Mar Azul
B4 Terezinha
B5 Frutu Proibibo
C1 Falta Di Força
C2 Sayko Dayo
C3 Sangue Di Beirona
C4 Nho Antone
C5 Mata Morte
D1 Rabolice Na Ilha Da Madeira
D2 Nova Sintra
D3 Menina D'Fonte Felipe
D4 Cinturão Tem Mele
D5 Dor Di Sodade
D6 Cize (Tape #49)
D7 Caminho De São Tomé

Suggestions ... See more

By clicking on 'Accept', you consent to the use of cookies for all of the above mentioned purposes. You can also refuse by clicking on 'Refuse'. (Find out more).